These fingers were made for crafting!

And they do! Knitting, cross stitching and now,…polymer clay sculpting!

Totally Unique by Danielle

First I tried a little gnomish looking house with some white Sculpey I had that I coloured with art pastels. It worked pretty well but I was very unhappy with how quickly my hands heated up the clay which made it very difficult to form into the crisp details I wanted.

So for my birthday I bought a lot more tools and clay and set to work experimenting some more…not managing to achieve any greater satisfaction in the process either, I’m forced to confess…

Totally Unique by Danielle

My favourite is the little face surrounded by flowers. That was the result of a face mould and some icing cutters I bought to make the flowers and leaves with. The fact that the flowers aren’t symmetrical bothers me but that’s because I actually had to fix this because the first time I baked it I forgot to loosen it from the base I was sculpting it on and when I went to pick it up after it cooled, I ripped off two of the flowers. This was after I re-did it and re-baked it again.

But I also made a couple of pretty face-brooches but the frustration with blunting the clay details with my clunky fingers continued!

I like them…but they’re not to the degree of finish that satisfies me yet.

But I’m still learning so I’m trying to be patient…while I make a list of supplies I still need! The list is definitely expanding!!

Totally Unique by Danielle

But on other fronts…the cross stitch progresses! I’ve finished the hag and now the giant’s head. The rest of his body is on the next and final line and I’ll get to that as I continue on.

Totally Unique by Danielle

And the Combo Beanies also continue with the seemingly inexhaustible Combined Cone Yarns!

   Totally Unique by Danielle

I’m down to the last couple of balls and have faint glimmers of light at the end of the yarn tunnel! I live in hope! So far I have on hand 20 beanies! What a marathon!

So I’ll continue challenging myself with the clay while coveting more tools so I can do it BETTER! (I will not be defeated!) while continuing on with the cross stitch and beanies…and who knows! I might actually get around to the poor benighted lace socks!

Cheers!

Dx

About totallyunique17

Mother of 3 adults. Married for over 25 years to dear hubbie (love you, darl!) Been an insulin dependant diabetic since I was 14. A born-again believer of Jesus and a rabid crafter whose tried most things but especially loves Knitting, Tatted lace and Spinning. I desperately want to learn how to do bobbin lace. I will one day!!
This entry was posted in clay, Crafts, Cross Stitch, Interests, Knitting, Polymer Clay, Projects and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

