How is it already May??

Where is the year going? It seems to be whizzing past so quickly! Oh well. I’ve continued plodding on.

Totally Unique by Danielle

I actually managed to post the beanies I made for my niece and youngest son. Major achievement for me since I tend to dither on getting things done sometimes. Jordan got his beanie the next day so I was pretty chuffed with that. I assume Mackenzie got her beanie but I don’t expect to hear back about it immediately. David will probably text me about it eventually.

Totally Unique by Danielle

I’m pretty impressed with the beanies I’ve been able to churn out using my combined fine yarns. Adding a really small amount of contrast yarn makes it more interesting to look at as well as knit which is a great stash buster as well. I’ve still got a lot of the dark charcoal colour so I’m trying to get through it my adding the contrast yarn not just in the brim but also in the body of the hat. It does make the knitting seem to speed along quicker too! The one in the top left corner is the latest and I’ve already got another on the needles. I am a machine!!

Totally Unique by Danielle

It’s not the only thing I’m knitting at the moment either. The Crimson Socks are going on apace. I finally knit up all the extra gusset stitches and I’m now just knitting until I get to the length of the foot that I want. Still with the lace insert so I’m going slowly…especially since I managed to knit a hole in my fingers.

Totally Unique by Danielle

So I’m trying to give my fingers time to heal a bit by not knitting with the tiny needles (2mm!) and doing other things.

Like…paracord bracelets! I’ve seen heaps of these things. That positively proliferate Pinterest so when I was in Albany I bought two paracords, black and khaki. I thought they were the least offensive colours for men. And they were very easy! The hardest thing I found with them was trying to tidy up the ends when I finished and attached the clip to the end of the bracelet. They do look smart, especially when you think I ended up making 4 bracelets with the two hanks of paracord and they sell these things for about $15 at shops. It’s enough to give one pause for thought if I didn’t totally suck at selling!

   Totally Unique by Danielle Totally Unique by Danielle

And also I have finally finished the second line of characters from my Monty Python and the Holy Grail cross stitch!

Totally Unique by Danielle

Pretty cool, isn’t it? I’m starting to get quite excited about this now and enjoying being able to tick of another character as I get further down the chart. Yes, there’s still the question of preparing and cleaning the cloth when I’ve finished as well as figuring out how to get it framed but that is for another day.

So, I will continue on my industrious little way. I like May. It’s Mother’s Day as well as my Birthday. So I usually enjoy it alot. We’ll see how we go.

Cheers

Dx

About totallyunique17

Mother of 3 adults. Married for over 25 years to dear hubbie (love you, darl!) Been an insulin dependant diabetic since I was 14. A born-again believer of Jesus and a rabid crafter whose tried most things but especially loves Knitting, Tatted lace and Spinning. I desperately want to learn how to do bobbin lace. I will one day!!
This entry was posted in Crafts, Cross Stitch, Interests, Knitting, Projects and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to How is it already May??

  1. eadouglas says:

    I love how you did the gridding. What sort of thread did you use for the markings?

    • Just normal sewing thread. I’ve found in the past that if I don’t do that before I start, I get lost as I start the design. And I knew this one would be challenging!

Leave a Reply

